The Expanding Circle

A blog about what I eat. Whoopee!

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

It’s all vegan, mon.

Posted by tinako on May 5, 2010

Jerked Tofu and Tempeh, Rice, Couscous, and Chard

I had a Caribbean thing going at dinner tonight, with mixed results.

I got the idea from Toni Fiore’s Totally Vegetarian TV Show.  Both the Jamaican Jerk Tofu & Tempeh and the Toasted Celli Rice were from a recent episode.

The tofu and tempeh were wonderful!  They are worth it for the cooking smell alone.

The rice didn’t come out too well for me, probably I guess because I used some rice vermicelli I had on hand – it seemed to behave differently than the (probably semolina) vermicelli on the show – it puffed up like tiny cheese puffs in the pan, and then sucked up all the water.  I kept adding so the rice wouldn’t burn, but the end result was soggy noodles and underdone rice.  Also, I couldn’t find the “chicken-style” bouillon seasoning at the store (and am not positive I want to), so I used veggie bouillon.

I also served Couscous Tropicale with Black Beans and Corn, from The Global Vegetarian by Solomon.  It is supposed to be Caribbean as well, so I thought it would go.  It was pretty bland on its own, which is why I’m not giving it its own recipe page, but it ended up working well, cool and refreshing, with the spicy main dish.  It was easy, so I’ll just tell you it was 1 c couscous soaked in 1-1/2 c boiling water, 2 chopped tomatoes, chopped pepper, can each of beans and corn, 2 T cilantro, juice of a lime, and salt and pepper, mix it all up and chill an hour.

Then there was the ever-present steamed Swiss chard.

Banana Chocolate Chip Cake

Dessert was from the same TV episode, Banana Chocolate Chip Cake.  I used about half whole wheat pastry flour (the rest, white flour).  I usually cut the sugar in recipes, and here I used only 3/4 c and it was good.  I mashed the bananas in the batter like she did on TV (one bowl, one fork, she said) and that may be why my cake came out a little tough – it ended up overmixing the batter – I would do it in a separate bowl next time, and add them right in with the other liquids.  Otherwise it was very good.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

