The Expanding Circle

A blog about what I eat. Whoopee!

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Grilled Tofu and Pasta Salad

Posted by tinako on May 11, 2011

Tofu Rubble

I grilled some tofu tonight.  I’ve never had terrific luck with this on an outdoor grill, and this was my first time with my new cast iron stovetop grill pan, so I tried a recipe from Vegan with a Vengeance.  My big mistake, I believe, was that I didn’t notice you were supposed to use extra firm tofu, and that is probably why my try didn’t work so well with the firm tofu I always buy.  It fell apart and looked like this.  But the kids liked it.

Pasta Salad

With this I made up a pasta salad.  I sort of followed part of a recipe from Totally Vegetarian.  I included whole wheat farfalle, roasted red peppers, black olives, fresh basil, and lettuce, and tossed everything with a dressing I had on hand, Balsamic Herb Vinaigrette, and Toni’s idea, soaked half a chopped Vidalia onion (she called for red) in 2.5 T balsamic for an hour before sprinkling that on as well – that worked out well.  She calls that “macerating.”

One Response to “Grilled Tofu and Pasta Salad”

  1. [...] beans, which I tossed with gomashio (I was winging it), marinated some zucchini in leftover Italian tofu marinade and grilled that, and tossed some collard greens on the grill as well.  I’ve been using the [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

