The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Leftovers!

Posted by tinako on April 27, 2009

If I put an exclamation point after leftovers they sound a lot better, don’t you think?  That probably applies to a lot of things actually.  Garbage Day!  Work!  It’s raining!  Say it with a positive spin and you emphasize the bright side, realize that it’s not a bad alternative.

So the bright side of leftovers is no cooking!!!  Actually, I still cook on Leftover Day, but no heavy lifting please.

I’ll start at the beginning.  I am not going to tell you what I had for breakfast, no matter how much you beg.  Instead I direct you to my Breakfast Ideas page, and if I make something not on the list, don’t panic, I’ll put it on there and let you know.

Notuna pita with banana and vegetable juice

Notuna pita with banana and vegetable juice

I’ll keep going with the lunches a little while, because I seldom have the same thing twice.  But after a while you will get the idea.  Today I had leftover Notuna salad in a toasted pita with a banana and vegetable juice.

Bean and Corn Salad

Bean and Corn Salad

For dinner I cleaned out the fridge and put the microwave to work.  We had Penne Marinara, Pea and Potato Curry, Broccoli, Green Beans, Guacamole, Focaccia, and someone had their doggy bag.  I made some Bean and Corn Salad to go with it.

I also made Sun Tea.  In case you don’t know how, I put 2 T sweetener (Splenda in my case) into a 2 qt pitcher, fill it with cold water, add 4 teabags (I like to have one fruity one), and set it in a sunny place for several hours.  Serve over ice.  I often put in some fresh mint with the teabags.

We even had leftover cake.

Leave a Reply

 
