The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Black Bean Vegetable Soup

Posted by tinako on August 27, 2009

BBQ Seitan Sandwich

BBQ Seitan Sandwich

Lunch today was a BBQ Seitan sandwich.  I sliced the last of the Seitan, slathered it in BBQ Sauce, and baked it in the toaster oven at 350 for 10 minutes.  I put it on leftover Whole Wheat Zucchini Herb Bread with more BBQ Sauce, a roasted Hatch pepper, and sliced tomato.  Good!

Dinner was Black Bean Vegetable Soup.  The very first thing I did was burn the beans on the quick soak (boiled off the small amount of water).  It was all the black beans I had and I figured I’d see if they couldn’t be saved.  I put them in a clean pot with fresh water to soak and scrubbed the burned pot.  After an hour of soaking I changed the water again, added a bay leaf and boiled them an hour and a half I guess.  They still smelled burned, so I dumped out that water too.  I replaced it with extra water in the soup, and it turned out wonderful – you would never know I had burned it.

I feel free to take liberties with soup recipes.  This time I added about 1/2 c chopped cauliflower that needed to go, and half a Hatch pepper.  Also I had no fresh hot pepper so used 1/4 t red pepper flakes, and was glad I had not used more.

Garlic Herb Bread and Turnip Greens with BBQ Sauce

Garlic Herb Bread and Turnip Greens with BBQ Sauce

With this I made Garlic Herb Bread in my bread machine.  If you have a bread machine, you have lots of recipes so I’m not going to bother with this one, but I did replace half the white flour with whole wheat and it came out great (still used the Basic cycle).  I would put in more garlic and herbs next time, though.  I also steamed some turnip greens and served them with the BBQ Sauce I made.

For dessert I made Cocoa Cake.  Not to be outdone by the beans, I screwed this up by using baking powder instead of baking soda.  It didn’t rise as much but was OK – you can’t go too far wrong with sugar and cocoa.

Leave a Reply

 
