The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chili Mole

Posted by tinako on September 10, 2009

Yesterday we went to a Mexican restaurant.  It claimed to have authentic Mexican cooking, but its location within a Holiday Inn made me skeptical.  The service was good and the food was adequate but not particularly inspiring.  The kids meals were all accompanied by French fries.  My husband shrugged at his meal.  My veggie fajita was flavorful, but don’t fajitas usually arrive sizzling?  It said there were whole beans in it; they just managed the plural – there were two.  What really amused me, though, was that the restaurant was an ordinary hotel area which had been decorated from the Cinco de Mayo rack of a party store.  There were mylar hot pepper danglies , and a jointed sign that said “FIESTA.”    I enjoy imagining the moment when bad ideas are conceived; in this case I pictured the poor manager being told, “Here’s eight bucks.  Make this place look Mexican by lunchtime.”

Anyway, I made a wonderful burrito for lunch today from the leftover fajita veggies and the leftover black beans I made.

My folks came for dinner, so I made Chili Mole with brown rice, Corn Cake, Cajun Cauliflower, and cold sliced beets I cooked yesterday.

Blueberry Orange Bundt Cake

Blueberry Orange Bundt Cake

For dessert I tried out The Joy of Vegan Baking cookbook I got at the beginning of summer, a few days before I began to cut down on desserts.  I made Blueberry Orange Bundt Cake.  It was very good.

In order to use up the rest of the silken tofu I made her Tofu Whipped Cream as well, figuring to serve it with the cake.  I think I have a low tolerance for tofu-based desserts.  Puddings, frostings, and now whipped topping – if it tastes like tofu, no thanks.  So this recipe is not for me.  I tried to tell my son, who hates blueberries, that this was his dessert, vanilla pudding, but he didn’t go for it either.

With this I served Constant Comment green tea, but I was careless and it got bitter.

2 Responses to “Chili Mole”

  1. Kellene said

    I’ve gotta say that sometimes it’s just not worth eating out when risking a mediocre meal. I trust my cooking much more than someone else’s!

Leave a Reply

 
