The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Peppermint Cupcakes

Posted by tinako on September 20, 2009

Peppermint Cupcakes

Peppermint Cupcakes

I made cupcakes today for guests of my daughter’s birthday.  I made Golden Vanilla Cupcakes with sprinkles and Peppermint Frosting.  With it we had mint tea.  I suppose I should really call it a mint tisane, since there are no tea leaves in it, only mint leaves.

I’m not feeling well, so dinner was uninspiring: whole wheat penne with that Summertime Tomato Sauce.  I’ve made better sauce.   With it we had a simple salad with a new dressing I tried, Walden Farms ranch flavor.  Here’s the problem: I’m not a big fan of ranch, but the rest of my family pretty much likes nothing but.  But I can’t find a vegan one that they like.  So I buy a bottle, they try it and refuse it, and I end up dumping 99.99% of it.  I tried making some once and it was awful.  So, little as I like to buy anything with animal products, I’m going back to buying dairy ranch for them.  Anyway, I just had my Maple Balsamic Dressing, and it was great.

One Response to “Peppermint Cupcakes”

  1. I’m in your shoes; Linda loves ranch but I can take it or leave it. When she went vegan she found solace in powdered ranch salad dressing mixes. Kroger (AKA Fry’s) does a mix that is vegan and can be reconstituted with almond milk or oat milk to make it creamy.

    Might also want to try this that uses some Vegenaise: http://www.recipezaar.com/Best-Vegan-Ranch-Dressing-132916

    If you want a pre-made one there is a bottled Caesar dressing made by Follow Your Heart (yes, the Vegenaise people). They do two, a vegan and non-vegan version. The vegan Caesar isn’t exactly a ranch flavor of course, but maybe it would be similar enough that the family would enjoy it.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

 
