The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Blue Light Special Bread

Posted by tinako on September 29, 2009

Garlic and Greens Soup, Blue Light Pilsner Bread, Tomatoes

Garlic and Greens Soup, Blue Light Pilsner Bread, Tomatoes

Tonight is soup night, so this afternoon I made some Nut Brown Ale Bread to go with.  Instead of nut-brown ale, however, I used a bottle of Blue Light Pilsner that has been kicking around in the pantry since someone brought it over a year ago.  It was still good, so I put it to much better use than drinking it.  Everybody loved the bread.

I usually make this into two loaves, but I lost track of time while it rose and needed to hurry it along, so I made half of it into 8 rolls (see Beginning Bread), which takes pretty much no time to rise, and bakes in 12-15 minutes.

I have a fridge full of Swiss chard, so I made Colleen’s Garlic and Greens Soup.  I made this once before.  My daughter hates soup, but she loved this soup that time, and she loved it again today.  My son loved it too, but then he is a soup fan.  My husband said it was OK, which is the best I can hope for, especially since he would not normally come anywhere near something called a “green.”   I made a half recipe, and probably didn’t use enough garlic.  It was too late to add more, so I put in about 1/2 t garlic powder.  I also added about 1-1/4 c cooked kidney beans I had in the fridge, because I remembered being hungry the last time I had this soup as an entree.  It’s 9:30 and I’m not hungry yet.

With this I also served some lovely fresh tomatoes, with just salt and pepper.

Leave a Reply

 
