The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Apple Pie

Posted by tinako on October 3, 2009

Dinner Friday was Zucchini Pizza.  My side had Summertime Tomato Sauce, kohlrabi, shitake and baby bello mushrooms, Gimme Lean “sausage,” olives, roma tomatoes, and jalapenos.  For dessert we made Colossal Chocolate Chippers.  These go great with soy milk, and even better with Grasshoppers.  I leave the drink mixing to my husband, and his recipe is equal parts Creme de Cocoa, Green Creme de Menthe, and soymilk/almond milk.

Bread Salad

Bread Salad

Breakfast Saturday was grapefruit juice and Cinnamon Raisin Toast.  For lunch I had veggie juice and made a salad with red leaf lettuce, yellow tomatoes, a piece of plain toast cut into squares, baby bello mushroom, and avocado, with the last of the Maple Balsamic Dressing.  The dressing gets into the toast and it tasted more or less like croutons.  There was no nut/legume in this salad, so I planned to have some peanuts or almonds later but I never got hungry and just forgot.  No big deal, since I had soy in my dinner.

Focaccia, Tomato, Broccoli, Lasagna Rollups, Fusili Marinara

Focaccia, Tomato, Broccoli, Lasagna Rollups, Fusili Marinara

Dinner was wonderful.  I made Lasagna Rollups, using some mystery tomato sauce I had apparently made at the cottage this summer – it had a lot of diced zucchini in it.  It was good!  With this there was Focaccia served with extra virgin olive oil and Dipping Spices, a plain sliced tomato (serve with salt and pepper), steamed broccoli (served with balsamic vinegar), and whole wheat fusili marinara for the picky.  I used fresh rainbow chard in the rollups.  I should have steamed them over the boiling lasgna noodles, but forgot until the last minute, so it went into the filling mostly raw, but turned out fine.  That Cashew Ricotta recipe is SO good – as I have mentioned, I do not typically like things like tofu whipped cream, but I could eat this stuff straight.  I also made another batch of Cashew Parmesan to serve with the pasta – I just make it in the food processor before I make the ricotta – it takes about a minute and I don’t even have to clean the bowl.

Cinnamon Apple Pie

Cinnamon Apple Pie

Dessert was Cinnamon Apple Pie and Starry Night Tea.

Leave a Reply

 
