The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Hot and Sour Soup

Posted by tinako on October 8, 2009

Hot and Sour Soup

Hot and Sour Soup

My parents came for dinner, but my husband was out of town, so I got to make something with mushrooms! I made Hot and Sour Soup. I made this for a Chinese New Year potluck as well and it has been good both times. Today I made a half recipe and it was perfect for three hungry adults. Too hot for my kids.

Southeast Asian Greens and Noodles

Southeast Asian Greens and Noodles

Also for dinner was Southeast Asian Greens and Noodles.  You know, this recipe seemed familiar, and I was about to type it in when I found I already had.  I notice I said my son loved it.  He refused to eat it today because the noodles were maybe a little overdone – so he had an apple for dinner, and my daughter had sushi and peaches.  This time around I didn’t put tofu in, and I used dried mint leaves, and the other half can of water chestnuts.  For greens I followed the printed recipe more closely, using collard greens, mustard greens, and bok choy.  The greens really cook down, so don’t be afraid to chop plenty.

Spicy Tempeh Sushi

Spicy Tempeh Sushi

Oh, I also made Tempeh Sushi for an appetizer.  Here is my stock photo.

I was going to make crepes for dessert but I lost my nerve.  Probably not the smartest idea to make your first crepes ever when guests are over.  Plus I had already done a lot of cooking.  So I made a Chocolate Chip Cake.

Leave a Reply

 
