The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Potato Wedge Croutons

Posted by tinako on October 13, 2009

Baked Potato and Greens Soup

Baked Potato and Greens Soup

Soup Night!

I decided to make Baked Potato and Greens Soup with Potato Wedge Croutons.  The recipe said kids loved this, with essentially a french fry floating in the soup, but my kids were not actually crazy about the fry.  I thought it was great.  They liked the soup OK.  On a side note, I messed up just about every direction as I made the soup, but it still turned out fine.  In the recipe I gave you what you’re supposed to do.

I defrosted half a loaf of Apple Wheat Bread to go with it.  Normally I heat up a (defrosted) loaf like this by wrapping it in tin foil and putting it in the oven at 300 for 15-20 min.  Today, to save tin foil I put it in a covered casserole, and that worked just as well.

Note that this meal has little from the legume group in it (soymilk is all).  You would need to add something on the side, or get your legumes at another meal.

Leave a Reply

 
