The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Potassium Sorbate Sushi

Posted by tinako on October 15, 2009

I had a light lunch at a Wegmans grocery store today.  I forgot this was an older location and it didn’t have a buffet, but it did have a sushi stand, and they had a Sun Garden Roll.  I looked in dismay at the ingredients list:

Cooked Rice (Brown Rice, Water), Vegetable (Carrots [Carrots, Water, Sugar, Salt, Acetic Acid, Citric Acid, Fructose, Malic Acid, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative)], Cucumber, Avocado, Sesame Seeds, Vinegar (High Fructose Corn Syrup, Grain Vinegar, Rice Vinegar, Salt, Brown Sugar), Pickled Ginger (Ginger, Water, Sugar, Salt, Acetic Acid, Citric Acid, Fructose, Malic Acid, Potassium Sorbate [Preservative]), Green Horseradish (Horseradish, Mustard, Corn Flour, Citric Acid, Capsicum, FD&C Yellow No. 5, Blue No. 1), Seaweed.

The sushi I make has:

Rice, rice vinegar, evaporated cane sugar, seaweed, tempeh (soybeans, water, vinegar, tempeh culture), Vegenaise (Grapeseed Oil, Filtered Water, Apple Cider Vinegar, Brown Rice Syrup, Soy Protein, Sea Salt, Lemon Juice Concentrate, and Mustard Flour), chili oil (soybean oil, chilies), sesame oil, avocado, chives.

I didn’t care for the Wegmans sushi carrots’ odd sweet flavor.  I did like the idea of horseradish sauce (minus the food coloring) and brown rice.  Unfortunately, I just bought an enormous bag of short grain white rice, but I will keep my eye out for short grain brown.  I had thought that I needed to buy “sushi” rice but the shelf-stocker at Wegmans said any short grain rice would work fine, and it is the rice vinegar that makes it sticky.

Southwestern Black Beans, Brown Rice, Corn Sticks, Broccoli

Southwestern Black Beans, Brown Rice, Corn Sticks, Broccoli

My parents came for dinner, and we had Southwestern Black Beans, brown rice, Corn Sticks, and microwaved broccoli (served with balsamic vinegar).  Lately anything I made with baking powder wasn’t too good.  It takes me a while to catch on, and I realized after too many poor dishes that the baking powder had gotten kind of clumpy, maybe over the summer.  So I bought fresh today, and what a difference.

Cinnamon Apple Pie

Cinnamon Apple Pie

Dessert was Cinnamon Apple Pie.  The apples I used had gotten sort of soft, and I thought the pie was a little mushy, but my Dad liked it.

We had English Breakfast Decaf Tea with it.

One Response to “Potassium Sorbate Sushi”

  1. Lara said

    Thanks so much for the encouraging words! I’m definitely going to seek out more resources. I love cooking new things so, I’m kind of excited about this new diet/lifestyle.

    You have an excellent blog here! I will add it to my reader!

    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

 
