The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Udon with Shiitake Mushrooms and Bok Choy in Miso Broth

Posted by tinako on October 20, 2009

I made Poppy Bagels yesterday.  I’ve been making bagels and Cinnamon Raisin Bread every few days for our breakfasts, though I don’t always mention it.  Lunch was another Chili Cornmeal Tofu sandwich, with an apple and veggie juice.

Yesterday’s dinner was a parade of leftovers: Southwestern Black Beans and brown rice, the leftover canned Eden Cajun Beans and Rice, this time with Sriracha sauce and then Dinosaur BBQ sauce (not on the same helping) dumped on it for flavor.  Also we had steamed collard greens with BBQ sauce.  They were selling the whole bunch of collards at the store – usually you get a measly couple little leaves for $2.50 or $3, organic.  This time they were the whole plant for $2.50!  I bought two!  The rest of my family had their leftover takeout cheese pizza.  Seems like there was something else but I forget.

Today I used up some tempeh to make BBQ Tempeh for sandwiches.

Udon with Shiitake Mushrooms and Bok Choy in Miso Broth

Udon with Shiitake Mushrooms and Bok Choy in Miso Broth

This being soup night, I looked in my fridge to see what needed to go.  I had some bok choy leftover from several weeks ago, though it was holding up fine, and I was fresh back from an Asian grocery.  The one I went to is dark and cavernous with much nauseating stuff in the fridge, is difficult to find things, and the packaging is mostly in Chinese.  However, the woman is friendly and helpful and I find there are some things it is better to get there.  They have an excellent selection and prices on miso and Japanese noodles.  They sell sushi seaweed in 100 sheet packages for $9, instead of 10 for $2 at a regular grocery.  But there weren’t as many dried fungus at the Asian grocery store as you might think, yet I found a big bag of dried shiitake mushrooms, $25/lb. in the Asian section of the grocery store (in the produce dept the dried mushrooms are $100/lb.).

So I went hunting in my cookbooks for a miso soup, which I had never made before.  The second one I found was perfectly matched with the other stuff I had on hand: Udon with Shiitake Mushrooms and Bok Choy in Miso Broth.  It was really, really good.

Raw Veggie Sushi

Raw Veggie Sushi

I couldn’t think of a bread or side dish to go with it, so I made Sushi.  I didn’t want to open another package of tempeh, so I just used some veggies on hand: raw matchsticked carrots, sliced avocado, the middle of the raw bok choy, and reconsituted shiitake mushrooms.

Leave a Reply

 
