The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Birthday Cake

Posted by tinako on October 24, 2009

We went out a lot this week.  Wednesday we went to Great Northern Pizza Kitchen, that makes the pizza I especially like.  I ordered cheeseless veggie and my family ordered veggieless cheese.  I just looked on their web site to find a picture of this pizza and find that they have added a new note to the menu: “NOTE: Sauce Contains Cheese.”  I am ripped!  It doesn’t say that on my takeout menu.  They should tell each and every person who orders their “Cheeseless Veggie” that it isn’t any more (if it ever was).  What are they thinking??  I have let them know what I’m thinking.

Friday we went out to Macaroni Grill.  They have changed since we were there in June.  They don’t have the tumblers of wine any more, though they do still leave the bottle on the table and let you keep count.  The servers don’t write their names upside down in crayon on the paper on the table, but there is still paper and crayons for us to use.  We amused ourselves by writing things like C D Y-N?  If you don’t know what that means, check out the kids’ book C D C by William Steig.  They also changed their menu items, though I was able to get the same thing I always order just by asking.

However, they do not have nutrition info on their web site, and I have no confidence in red sauce any more.  I’ve written them to ask them to post this info.  There’s another place we order pizza, and I’d better ask them too.  What is the world coming to?

Vanilla Cake

Vanilla Cake

I made a Vanilla Cake with Vanilla Frosting for after.  It came out great!!!  In the past I have always overbaked it or something, but this time it was perfect: fluffy and tender.  And it’s actually cheeseless.

We ate out at Moe’s Southwest Grill.  They have a terrific online nutrition calculator.  You can actually choose your menu item and then add or subtract toppings and see how it affects the standardized nutrition label we’re all familiar with.  They also have a chart which shows common allergens including milk and eggs in all their products.  And they do not seem to put animal products into things they have no business in, such as rice or sauce.  I called and verified that they use vegetable broth in their rice.  Ole!

One Response to “Birthday Cake”

  1. tinako said

    I contacted Macaroni Grill and they showed me how to get to their nutrition info on their web site. It’s at the bottom of the map. Most of their sauces are not vegan, but the arrabiata that I always get seems to be. Their house dressing does not seem to be vegan, but they do have vegan dressings. The croutons are not vegan.

    The info is set up for particular allergies, so it is not all that convenient for vegans, and you can’t really be sure of other things like beef broth. I’ll ask before I go next time.

Leave a Reply

 
