The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Pumpkin Seeds

Posted by tinako on October 26, 2009

Pasta Verdura, Tamari Tofu, and RollsDinner tonight was Pasta Verdura.  Tonight I made it with olive oil, garlic just dug from my garden, broccoli, roma tomatoes from my garden, and some asian greens I got at the farmer’s market, similar to bok choy, but called something like akachoi.  I cooked them in red cooking wine, tossed everything  with whole wheat spaghetti, and sprinkled Cashew Parmesan on the top.  It was delicious.

With this I served leftover Blue Light Beer Rolls and Tamari Tofu.

My kids carved their pumpkins this afternoon, so we had  couple cups of Pumpkin Seeds to toast.  In case you don’t know how, they mostly separated the goop from the seeds, and then I spread them in a 9 x 12″ aluminum pan, sprinkled them liberaly with salt and stirred them around, spreading them out again.  They weren’t in a single layer, but not too deep either.  I tossed them in the oven, uncovered, at 300 or 350 for an hour.  I set the oven to turn off so I wouldn’t forget them.  I like to do that when I’m drying things, always set the oven to go off after an hour.  They were almost done so I stirred them around and left them in the cooling oven.  By evening, I could break them into individual seeds and they were ready to eat.  I put them in an airtight container to store, and if they get a little tired-tasting in a few weeks, they can probably be refreshed in the oven.

Leave a Reply

 
