The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Spaghetti Arrabiata

Posted by tinako on November 5, 2009

This week I finished off the 50 lbs. of organic white flour I bought in May.  So it took six months, but that included purchasing a few bags for various reasons.  The 50 lbs. of whole wheat flour is more than half gone.

Marinara, Garlic Vinaigrette, Garlic Toast, Collard Greens, Spaghetti, Arrabiata, Tomatoes

Marinara, Garlic Vinaigrette, Garlic Toast, Collard Greens, Spaghetti, Arrabiata, Tomatoes

Dinner today was whole wheat spaghetti with choice of Marinara or Arrabiata sauce, steamed collard greens with balsamic vinegar, tomatoes with commercial garlic vinaigrette, and garlic toast.

I made the Garlic Toast from an episode of Totally Vegetarian.  You slice some bread (I used the last of the Blue Light Beer Bread), then broil it, then rub half a garlic on it, then drizzle olive oil and salt and pepper on it.  I used to watch my Mom do it this way and it always turned out great.  But I had some problems.  First of all, I have a gas stove, and I cannot really get used to the idea of putting the food within inches of a line of blue flames.  So I put them in the toaster – shouldn’t that be the same?  I rubbed the garlic on and that was OK, but I found I was not really able to control the rest of the ingredients.  My Mom used to spread on butter, and Toni on TV had this fancy olive oil bottle with a drizzly neck.  I just had a big ol’ bottle.  So it was nothing and then “glug.”  And then my s&p shakers were acting up.  So it wasn’t as great as I had hoped.  Next time I would use margarine or maybe spray-on canola, and then sprinkle salt on using a bowl and my fingers so I could control it – or skip that.

Leave a Reply

 
