The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Maple Bread, Take 1

Posted by tinako on November 9, 2009

Quesadilla

Quesadilla

Lunch for two days has been No-queso Quesadillas with mushroom, avocado, and salsa, and a banana and veggie juice.

I have been smelling toasting Monks Maple Cinnamon Bread since Saturday.  It’s not vegan and I want my own.  I went looking for a nice sweet maple bread recipe, but all I could find was just a little maple syrup added, and people were using it for sandwich bread.  Pfah!

I made an attempt by altering the Whole Wheat Cinnamon Raisin Machine Bread.  I replaced the oil and sugar with 1/4 c maple syrup and added 1-1/2 t maple flavoring.  The dough was sort of wet, which is probably why it sank in the middle during baking – that didn’t affect the flavor but doesn’t look great.  A little more white flour would probably take care of that.  I think it could also use some more sweetness and a lot more maple flavor.  The Monks bread also has chunks of cinnamon sugar in it.  I will think about whether I want to do that later.

I ate dinner out at a Mediterranean restaurant.  We got hummus and pita as an appetizer and I ordered a veggie combo with four appetizers as my meal: Tabulee, Dolmades, Tourlou, and Sauteed Spinach.

Leave a Reply

 
