The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Kale Chips

Posted by tinako on November 18, 2009

Kale Chips

This afternoon I made Kale Chips, following the directions in the October 6th, 2009 article of the Democrat and Chronicle, by Karen Miltner.  It was very easy but I nevertheless screwed it up two different ways.  Karen recommends Tuscan Kale (also called cavolo nero, Lacinato, or dinosaur kale), which I actually had.  She says it’s just easier to work with because it has one center rib, easily removed, and roasts flat.

You preheat your oven to 350, rinse and dry the kale (between two towels), remove the rib and tear it into bite size pieces.  Fill a large mixing bowl with these, then add 1 T olive oil and toss with your hands.  I carelessly added way too much oil and my kale chips came out kind of greasy.  Arrange half the kale on a baking sheet in a single layer and then sprinkle with kosher salt.  I broke down recently and bought kosher salt, so that was great except I used too much.

Bake 10 min.  Remove to a plate any that are done (should be crisp but not burned) and if necessary bake the rest a few minutes more.  Mine were all done at 10 min.  Repeat with second batch.  Let them cook just a minute on the plate, then eat right away or store in an airtight container up to 3 days.

Variations:  maple syrup, nutritional yeast, cayenne, truffle oil, or garlic powder

Because my kale chips were more oily and salty, I found I couldn’t eat more than a few at once.  They have a pleasantly bitter aftertaste.  I suspected they would go really well with beer, and I found out at dinnertime that indeed they do.  I only used half my bunch of kale, so I’ll try again, maybe with a spice mix.  Oh, that cajun mix!

Pinto Beans, Rice, Chipotle Tabasco, Corn Sticks, Balsamic Vinegar, Dundee Oktoberfest, and Rainbow Chard

Dinner tonight was leftover Spicy Pinto Beans (so good with Chipotle Tabasco) and brown rice, Corn Sticks, and steamed rainbow chard with balsamic vinegar.

Leave a Reply

 
