The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Fennel-Pear Soup

Posted by tinako on November 24, 2009

Curry Pita

For lunch I put lettuce, the last of the sprouts, and leftover Curry in a whole wheat Pita.  Had it with beets and veggie juice.

Pain a l’Ancien

This afternoon I finished the Pain a l’Ancien, so-called Ancient Bread.  When I had a regular job, I would stop by the grocery store and pick up a baguette fresh out of the oven.  We would have that, grapes, and wine for dinner – not all that nutritionally balanced, but mmmmm!  The bread was so moist and tender, we just tore off hunks and ate it without any butter.  That store went out of business, and I never had another baguette, home- or store-made, as good as the original.

Until now.

I also used the rest of my tuscan kale to make more Kale Chips, this time with the proper amount of oil and less salt.  Very good.

Fennel-Pear Soup

I made a salad for dinner, and then some soup.  I need to clean out my fridge, and I spied in there soup stock, a fennel bulb, and half an onion.  It was clearly time for Fennel Soup.  A recipe this simple was very appealing.  I put 1 T margarine in a medium saucepan and sauted the chopped fennel and onion for about 10 minutes.  Meanwhile I microwaved four little red potatoes I had left.  Then I added the 1/2 c or so of stock I had made – it smelled a little odd, but not bad – and a cup of water and some veggie bouillon paste, and let it simmer about 10 min.  I gave it a taste and thought, “Wow, fennel really adds sweetness to the broth.”  Then I started to think it over and wonder what was in that stock.  I retrieved the empty container and gave it a taste and enlightenment came.  Someone, someone little who loves pears, had finished off some pears and left all the pear juice.  I had added canned pear juice to my fennel soup.  Oh well, it actually wasn’t as bad as it sounds.  My kids thought it tasted funny (“Oh, hmm, do you think so?”).  I’ll never tell.

Leave a Reply

 
