The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Shrug

Posted by tinako on December 8, 2009

Caldo Verde

For dinner I made Caldo Verde, a potato and greens soup, from 150 Vegan Favorites.   Look, I used those purple potatoes!  I really followed the recipe pretty closely, but the soup had no flavor.  It was only seasoned with salt and pepper.  I ended up adding a bunch of bouillon paste, and consequently it tasted more or less like any other soup I might make without a recipe, which sort of defeats the purpose of a cookbook.  My kids really liked it.

Corn Muffins

I made Corn Muffins from Joy of Vegan Baking, to try something new, but they were a lot of work (4 bowls), and they were sort of tough and dry – I was hoping they would be really tender and grainy.  My problems may have been that I used the whole wheat pastry flour that was suggested as an alternative to white flour, and that I did not check them before the minimum baking time.  They probably would have been better baked less and with white flour.

Leave a Reply

 
