The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Impromptu Miso Soup

Posted by tinako on December 18, 2009

Miso Soup

I threw together a Miso Soup for my lunch, and it was so good.  I glanced at a recipe, but they all looked too fussy – you were supposed to saute and then simmer.  Nah.  I put about 2 to 3 c water in a too-small pot, then added 2 T miso paste, 3 dried shiitake mushrooms, 3 dried oyster mushrooms, 2 chopped bok choy leaves and stems, and about 1 T minced fresh ginger.  After about 5 min, the bok choy was definitely cooked so I added 4-5 sliced button mushrooms and 1 bundle udon noodles.  I let it cook 3 min, according to the udon package directions, and then ate it with chopsticks and a spoon.  In hindsight it was probably too many noodles for one person – I was stuffed.

Pizza

Dinner was Pizza.  My side had olives, broccoli, frozen banana peppers, mushrooms, avocado, Gimme Lean “Sausage,” and red pepper flakes.

3 Responses to “Impromptu Miso Soup”

  1. I’ve never seen miso with udon in Japan, but miso ramen is very, very popular. Generally, I agree with your approach – if you’re using good miso and fresh ingredients I don’t think you have to worry about the details too much. If you ever want to make it really authentically Japanese tasting, I recommend that you start with dashi – Japanese soup stock. It’s actually really easy to make from scratch, but powdered stuff is faster. Anyway, now I’m hungry…

    • tinako said

      LOL, I’m definitely not culturally aware! Really, they never pair miso with a particular type of noodle? I thought I was doing well to not put in linguine or wagonwheels!

      • Yeah, definitely a lack of wagonwheel miso soup over here… but you never know. I’ll keep my eye out! Might not be half-bad…

        Seriously though, usually miso is served without noodles at all. Ramen is the only exception I can think of. But if it tastes good, do it I say. I once tried miso, udon, cheese and pepper and it was quite tasty.

Leave a Reply

 
