The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Miso Soup

Posted by tinako on December 22, 2009

Miso Soup, Brown Rice, and Swiss Chard

I read up on miso soup a little in an old issue of Vegetarian Journal (the magazine of Vegetarian Resource Group, permanent link is to the right).  Here is the article.  So I really had no idea what I was doing the other day when I made miso soup, but it was good anyway, so I made it for dinner tonight the same way.  I looked and the miso I use is Shiro Miso, so it is sweeter and good for winter, but shouldn’t be used with salty seaweed.  Good to know.

The article says that in Japan a very common meal is miso soup, rice, and vegetables.  So that is what I did tonight.

We went to the last Winter Farmer’s Market (ironically only one day into “winter”) but the pickings were somewhat slim and we only came home with purple potatoes.

Leave a Reply

 
