The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Christmas Dinner

Posted by tinako on December 25, 2009

Spiced Carrot and Orange Soup

This might be the biggest meal I have ever pulled off, and there was pretty much no advance planning since I haven’t been feeling well.  So as a labor of vegan love, I spent all morning doing this:

Braided Sweet Potato Bread

I took the sweet potatoes I had cooked last night and mashed them for Braided Sweet Potato Bread dough.  I made Spiced Carrot and Orange Soup.  Then I took the rice I cooked last night and made Wild Rice Pilaf with Apples and Pecans.  I prepared a Lentil Loaf.  I made Cranberry Sauce.

Wild Rice Pilaf with Apples

I loaded all that stuff, some cooked and some not, plus three pounds of blue potatoes, a mystery squash, a packet of Hains Vegetarian Gravy mix, and chocolate chips, into an enormous basket and lugged it over to my parents’ house.

Groovy Blue Mashed Potatoes

I got to relax a few hours, and then I formed and baked the bread and lentil loaf, made Mashed Potatoes, prepared the gravy and heated up the soup and pilaf.

Squash

I also cooked the Squash.  To do that I split it in half, removed seeds and loose goop, placed it cut-side down in a pan with an inch of water, baked at 375 for 40-50 min until very tender, scooped out the good stuff, used an electric hand mixer on it, and added sugar and salt to taste.

Chocolate Chip Cake

For dessert I made a Chocolate Chip Cake.

Leave a Reply

 
