The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Veggies veggies veggies

Posted by tinako on January 7, 2010

My parents came for dinner tonight, and with New Year’s Resolutions in full swing, I made a particularly healthy meal.  Yesterday I stopped at a discount grocery store that I find tends towards selling a limited variety of food, and mostly processed food, but their produce department has really good prices, so I bought a lot of great stuff and decided to start on it tonight.

I chopped up raw veggies and set them out with Hummus.  This is way more veggies than we would eat at this time, which is why I served them in takeout containers that look nice but will also stack in the fridge.  If my veggies are in their original state in my veggie bin, I will probably not reach for them as a snack; but all chopped up, with a dip on hand, they are more appealing.  So:

Green Split Pea and Barley Stew

  1. Purchase fresh veggies
  2. Chop up fresh veggies right away
  3. Choose them.  Eat your veggies!

Dinner itself was Green Split Pea and Barley Stew,

Nut Brown Ale Rolls

Nut Brown Ale Bread (rolls),

Salad

and a salad with Maple Balsamic Dressing.

Dessert was Applesauce Orange Spice Cake.

Leave a Reply

 
