The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Seaweed and Fungus Soup

Posted by tinako on January 15, 2010

Wakame Seaweed

OK, I went a little overboard this afternoon.  I decided to make some miso soup with some of the dried stuff I got the other day.  The problem is, I put in some of everything, just to get a taste of it.  I don’t recommend that.

To be fair, who could know that the little black thing on the right would expand into this enormous piece of seaweed?  So I put too much in.  And I think the article telling me that Wakame doesn’t go well with sweet Shiro Miso was correct, and the Chinese lady at the Asian market who told me they would be fine was… maybe not as correct.  It was kind of a strange combination.

Weird Soup

I put in three kinds of dried mushrooms: Shiitake and some unidentified little strips, which were fine, and white fungus, whatever that is, which I found had the appearance, texture and flavor I would expect from… stomach.  I didn’t think to take a picture, but the white fungus looked just like that, and it was difficult to get past.

I also put in some fine rice vermicelli noodles, and sliced daikon, which were good.  But between the fishy smell, the sweetness, and the stomach things, it was not my favorite meal.

Pizza

Dinner was Zucchini Pizza using the last of frozen zucchini from my 2008 garden.  My side had portobello mushrooms, olives, swiss chard (microwaved in about 1/2″ water), reconstituted dried tomatoes, and red pepper flakes.  Precooking the chard so it wouldn’t dry out in the oven worked well – I would do this again.

Leave a Reply

 
