The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Crepes

Posted by tinako on January 23, 2010

Crepe

I made crepes for dessert, my first time.  I’m going to include the terrific recipe, but not the directions.  I’m too much of an amateur to write my own and Colleen did such a great job but it would be violating her copyright to just post them.

They tasted great, but I had some trouble with them, I think mostly related to my pan.  I tried to make them in a 10″ heavy-bottom non-stick skillet, because my 8″ skillet is cast iron, but I think I’d try the 8″ one next time.  I just couldn’t get them spread evenly – it was too much batter, on a thick pan that does not cool down fast enough when you raise it off the heat.  So the batter was cooking before I could spread it.  I did discover that the best tool I had for spreading it was the bottom of a 1 c plastic measuring cup.  I once saw a professional using basically the flat end of a wooden cylinder, sort of alike a 3″ length of handrail.  He made it look easy.

Here’s the awesome batter recipe from The Joy of Vegan Baking by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau:

Process in a food processor 2 min (all the ingredients just barely fit in my small Cuisinart):

Add and process until combined:

Add and process 1 min:

  • 3/4 c + 1 T white flour
  • 1 t sugar
  • 1/4 t ground nutmeg
  • pinch of salt

This made five large crepes.  I put them out with chocolate sauce, maple syrup, Strawberry-Rhubarb Syrup, and powdered sugar.  People spread what they wanted on the open crepe, folded it up and sprinkled it with powdered sugar.

Leave a Reply

 
