The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Burritos

Posted by tinako on January 26, 2010

When we close our eyes to the unpleasant realities of the meat, dairy, and egg industries, we also close our hearts to the possibility of expansion and change. The pain of looking is nothing compared to what the animals endure; the joy of looking is that we realize we don’t have to be part of it.Colleen Patrick-Goudreau

Swiss Chard, Refried Beans, Lettuce, Tomato, Guacamole, Rice

Another lazy dinner: burritos.  I opened up a can of Amy’s low-sodium Vegetarian Refried Beans, and added some Chi-Chi’s Taco Mix that has been ratting around for years.  When I was vegetarian I used to use a lot of refried beans, but since going vegan I discovered that they aren’t really flavorful enough to stand up without cheese.  And I can’t even remember what I used to use those packets for – this one expired in 2006.  But this worked pretty well, and the leftover will make a good veggie dip.  I heated up some leftover takeout rice, chopped up some lettuce and tomato, put out alfalfa sprouts I’m growing, and made some Guacamole.  We wrapped all this up in microwaved part-whole wheat tortillas.

I microwaved up some more Swiss Chard.

Leave a Reply

 
