The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Weekend with a New Vegan

Posted by tinako on March 28, 2010

Breakfast this morning was Pancakes with Strawberry-Rhubarb Syrup.  This syrup is sooo good when it’s hot and fresh, and the fruit is still intact.  My mouth is watering thinking of it.

My daughter, 7,  is in day nine of being vegan, and I am so proud of her.  I knew the weekdays would be easy, because she was already 99.9999% vegan through the week, but she had said last week she wasn’t going to be vegan this weekend when the trickier stuff came up again.  I left it up to her, of course, and she decided on her own to stay home from the Saturday-morning non-vegan diner again.  She played video games and ate Lemon-Poppy Muffins and did not seem to miss going.

However, I’m a little worried about Sunday nights.  At my Dad’s request, we take non-vegan pizza to my parents’ house, so I brought along Amy’s Asian Noodle Stir Fry for myself.  I’ve had this before, and it was still pretty good.   But I’m not sure what frozen vegan entrees are going to appeal to my daughter – my kids don’t really like sauce on stuff, and she’s not into soup.

So I was relieved when she asked if we could bring a leftover Lasagna Rollup for her dinner.  She broke into cheers when I said yes, and I added some leftover whole wheat penne Marinara and the container of leftover Swiss chard.  Solved for today, anyway.

Then something I had forgotten – there are always M&Ms over there, and my daughter was all excited about them after dinner.  “They’re not vegan,” I had to say, apologetically, “but it’s up to you what you want to do.”  She was disappointed but decided not to have them.  A few minutes later it occurred to me to whisper in her ear, “We’ll have chocolate chips when we get home.”  That brightened her up.  Next time I’ll try to remember to bring some.

My Dad provides a vegan dessert for me; lately it’s been the yummy So Delicious chocolate coated soy milk stick bars.  There was just one so I let my daughter enjoy it.

See how adding a vegan to the family is a whole new set of hurdles for me?  But soon it will be second nature.  I get kind of panicky when I think of all the events, holidays, vacations coming up that we will have to deal with, and I have to keep reminding myself that I don’t have to handle them all today.

Leave a Reply

 
