The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Veganniversary

Posted by tinako on April 4, 2010

Easter is my vegan anniversary.  I know, Easter moves around and I went vegan on Easter in March 2008, but I like to tie it in to Easter.

Maybe I should tell you my vegan story?

I was vegetarian (about 15 years) and had been listening to Food for Thought for several months.  I was enjoying it but was shocked to hear the truth about dairy (here’s the podcast and here’s my blog posting on it).  This was a painful truth to hear, not only because it was sad and I knew I was complicit in it, but also because I did not want to change.  I thought it would be too difficult.  I remember vividly looking at myself in the mirror and then starting to cry because I was not who I wanted to be.  I was being torn apart.

Suddenly it hit me.  On the one hand was incredible suffering, and on the other hand… restaurant cake…  supermarket doughnuts… roadside ice cream.  I was letting that crap tell me who I was.

I laughed out loud and have never looked back.  Last weekend was the second anniversary of one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.  Woo-hoo!

Leave a Reply

 
