The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Traveling, Day 8, and Home

Posted by tinako on April 24, 2010

We had breakfast in a hurry at an airport Dunkin Donuts: dry whole wheat bagels, and the grocery store California mandarin oranges.  I think Dunkin Donuts usually has peanut butter for the bagels, but these servers were less than competent so we gave up.  Our oranges are just like clementines, and I love how not only do they peel easily, but our hands didn’t get all sticky, a real plus when you’re traveling.

Lunch was in the dining car of an Amtrack train, and I was pleasantly shocked at my options: hummus and crackers, vegan burger (it said “vegan” right on the Amtrack menu!), entree salad, and fruit cup.  My daughter got the crackers and I had the salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette.  It was a really good salad with mixed greens and lots of veggies.  We filled this out with more of our grocery store snacks: oranges, Triscuits, pretzels, and nuts.

Dinner was Chinese takeout in our very own living room.  Ahhhhhhh!

Looking back: This is our first vacation in probably 4-5 years, and I was concerned about finding vegan food, or rather, being stuck with tedious or unhealthy restaurant options for breakfast, lunch, and dinner for a week.  I was right to be apprehensive, as vegans are not going to have an easy time of it just because it’s Southern California.  I am very glad I had healthy grocery-store snacks on hand – they made things much more convenient (impromptu picnics, stuck in travel, trapped in a museum, or just a cranky kid), and I think I made good choices, except I would not bother with grapes next time, and I don’t think I’d bother bringing the lunch tote and ice pack.  We did not end up using our takeout containers for anything that a baggie wouldn’t have done, but that was because our hotel had an unadvertised continental breakfast.  I was glad I packed the almonds into four little zip-lock snack bags, and I reused those to fill with more nuts I bought there – it would have been heavy to carry around all the nuts all the time, and it was nice to just toss a little pack of concentrated and uncrushable energy in a backpack.  I do wish I had made a print-out of good places to eat, including convenient grocery stores.  Having internet access on a handheld device would have been even more useful, but I wouldn’t get that just for vacations.  I wish we had called the airline to verify about meals, since we could have had a vegan meal on one flight.

Leave a Reply

 
