The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Free Online Course About Food

Posted by tinako on June 11, 2010

Kelly D. Brownell, PhD

I found something really neat.  The April 18th, 2010 NY Times had an insert Education Life which is all about free online courses you can take.  These are mostly videotapings of college lectures.  One of the featured courses was a Yale psychology course, Psych 123: The Psychology, Biology, and Politics of Food.  Here is the NY Times article “Why we go Cuckoo for….

Professor Kelly Brownell is the author of Food Fight, and it is required reading for the class.

I watched the first lecture and found it fun and interesting.  For instance, he asks the students to define “food,” and there are several answers.  Then he puts up a slide showing a bag of Flaming Hot Cheetos and a cockroach.  He goes down the definitions of food and the cockroach outscores the Cheetos until they get to the definitions regarding culture, what everyone else eats.  He shows several fast food commercials and the students are asked what messages are being sent by the ads.

You can watch the course at this link.

Geek note: I watched the first lecture using the link under Class Sessions and I had a terrible time with my player’s caching.  Then I found that you can pre-download the lecture under Downloads; I did that and I’m hoping that will be the end of that problem.

I’m going to blog about the lectures and the assignments, but if you are following along, you might find this posting of the readings helpful.

9 Responses to “Free Online Course About Food”

  1. […] Comments (RSS) « Free Online Course About Food […]

  2. […] of keeping track of the nutritional data for everything I eat, as assigned by the professor at this online food psychology class I’m […]

  3. […] blog about it and the assignments.  Here are links to the readings, which are not up at the Yale site […]

  4. […] by tinako on June 21, 2010 I read a bunch of stuff for my Food Psychology class today, and then watched the fourth lecture.  This Time article is an amusing account of a […]

  5. […] Free Online Course About Food […]

  6. […] in the last two weeks, I have thrown myself into a Psychology course Yale offers free online, and I have been immersed in a new way of thinking about obesity and overweight in […]

  7. […] tinako on July 6, 2010 I’m reading Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food as part of the Yale psychology course on food I’m… well, auditing would be the word, I […]

  8. […] by tinako on August 19, 2010 I just watched the 18th lecture in the Yale Psych 123 class I’m auditing, “The Psychology, Biology, and Politics of Food.”  This lecture was […]

  9. […] the book Living Large, by Michael S. Berman.  I’ve been learning about obesity thanks to a free online Yale university class I just finished, and while Professor Brownell did an excellent job of conveying why people […]

Leave a Reply

 
