The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Strawberries

Posted by tinako on June 21, 2010

Strawberries

My daughter and I went strawberry picking this afternoon, $2/lb.  We picked 16 quarts!  I froze eight of them tonight and we ate a couple quarts, too.  I found out at the checkout that we could have taken two free quarts, but we were so tired.  We got a slip so we may go back – anyone want to come?

To freeze them I just rinse them, cut off the hulls and slice them and put them in gallon freezer bags – three quarts will fit comfortably in each bag.

These taste much better than the fresh (in clamshell), $2/lb. on sale, or frozen ($2.69/lb.) strawberries you get in the supermarket, but about the same as the “local” ones I bought there last week for $4/qt. (about 1 lb).  We use them throughout the year to make Strawberry-Rhubarb Syrup and to add to soy yogurt.  I made a fresh strawberry pie for friends two years ago, right after I went vegan.  It was so good.  I will have to look that up.

For dinner I made burritos with leftover rice and Southwestern Black Beans, lettuce, tomato, and Chipotle Tabasco or jarred salsa.  Also broccoli.

Leave a Reply

 
