The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Penne Edamame

Posted by tinako on July 1, 2010

Penne Edamame, Apple Wheat Rolls, and Sauteed Peppers

My parents came for dinner and I made whole wheat penne with Tomato Coulis and edamame, with Cashew Parmesan to sprinkle on top.  I just microwaved some frozen shelled edamame and tossed them in.  We also had leftover Apple Wheat Rolls, microwaved broccoli with balsamic vinegar, and sauteed peppers.

To saute the peppers I heated some olive oil and added some garlic, then added the sliced peppers and sauteed them a while.  I added some fresh cilantro and lime basil and salt towards the end.  It was good, but the garlic did get burned.  It might be a good idea to add the garlic later or pre-microwave the peppers a bit.

Golden Vanilla Cupcakes with Vanilla Frosting

My daughter had a tough time with her veganism this afternoon.  We accidentally ended up in a situation where there were cupcakes being shared by a friend who didn’t know we were coming.  They looked and smelled really good and everyone was talking about them, and I had nothing to substitute for them.  I knew she really wanted them.  It was her choice, and I’m proud that she said no.  After she made her choice, we talked quietly for a minute about the animals, and when it was all over I pointed out that the cupcakes were long gone but she had stood firm to her beliefs.  I think it helped that I told her I would make the same thing for dessert, and I did.  We had Golden Vanilla Cupcakes with half a recipe of Vanilla Frosting and rainbow sprinkles.  I replaced 1/4 c white flour with whole wheat pastry flour and they were delicious.  I use unbleached cupcake liners I found in the natural foods section of the grocery store.

2 Responses to “Penne Edamame”

  1. Mara said

    Sorry for putting her in an uncomfortable situation. I’m very proud of her for sticking to her beliefs. Next time I’ll know to let you know in advance so that you can bring a substitute.

  2. tinako said

    It wasn’t your fault at all. These situations will happen. Eventually she will have it all within her, but for right now it is something I need to help her along with, with substitutes, even after-the-fact, and reminders of why she is doing this. It’s painful for us all to watch her struggle with it, though.

Leave a Reply

 
