The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Garlic Scapes

Posted by tinako on July 3, 2010

Beans and Garlicky Greens

Corn Cake

For dinner I made Beans and Garlicky Greens, Corn Cake, and steamed green beans and brussels sprouts.

Garlic Scapes?

I didn’t have any garlic and the ones in my garden will be immature right now, so I decided to try something I vaguely heard about: garlic scapes.  The problem is, I don’t really know what they are other than a part above the ground.  So with a bit of trial and error, I discovered that you can slice through the swollen part at the top of the plant, peel off the skin, and mince the just-beginning-to-grow baby garlics.  I don’t know if that is scapes, but they worked.

Leave a Reply

 
