The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Independence Day

Posted by tinako on July 4, 2010

French Potato Salad

We had a barbeque to celebrate Independence Day.  I grilled up lots of veggies and tempeh.

At Colleen Patrick Goudreau‘s suggestion (BBQ podcast) I steamed some tempeh for 10 minutes and then coated it in commerical barbeque sauce and let it sit in the fridge for a few hours (instructions said 30 minutes).  Then it cooked in just a few minutes on the grill.  This is the one item I didn’t think came out well – it was OK, but the flavor didn’t really get into the tempeh like baking it in a more liquidy marinade does.

Half of the grill not shown to spare the innocent.

Right after I steamed the tempeh, I threw in some white sweet potatoes cut into 1″ slices, and some carrots just peeled and halved, and steamed them for about 10 min until crisp tender, and then put them in the fridge.

I quartered some mini sweet peppers and halved some zucchini and yellow summer squash and refrigerated them as well.

I made a marinade: 1/2 c olive oil, 1/3 c red wine vinegar, about 1/4 c minced chives, and a couple T minced fresh oregano.  I let this sit a while.

I boiled some potatoes and made French Potato Salad.

Just before grilling time, I sliced some portobello mushrooms into 1″ slices and marinaded them half an hour.  I also poured some marinade on the peppers.

When hubby started up the grill I put on the top rack a whole, unpeeled vidalia onion and some small beets.  Just to see what woud happen, I threw a whole, washed collard green leaf on the grill.  It cooked pretty fast – in only a few minutes part of it had dried out and kind of burned, but the part that was just wilted was very good – smokey.  I would do that again, but you would have to watch it very carefully.  I got the idea for these three veggies from an episode of Delicious TV Totally Vegetarian.

Tossed Salad

Next I made a tossed salad: lettuce, cuke, tomatoes, and a shredded raw beet.  I also made Mustard Vinaigrette.

About half an hour before we wanted to eat, I started the other veggies.  They were only supposed to take 10 minutes but we had the heat kind of low.

When everything was done, I peeled and sliced the onion.  The beets were very hard to peel and I cut myself 😦  But they ended up tasting pretty good – not smoky or anything, but they tasted fine if you wanted beets and happened to be barbequing.

Grilled Veggies, Beets, Onion, and Tempeh

Everything came out very good.  The onion I would not bother with again, though if you wanted a roasted onion for some other recipe and were barbequing this would be a good way to make it.  I’m just not exactly sure what I’d do with it.  My Dad liked it.  The carrots were very good.  On the TV show they called grilled carrots the original veggie dog.

For dessert around the bonfire I made Chocolate Chip Ice Cream.  I only had brown sugar, and the ice cream was tan but tasted fine.

One Response to “Independence Day”

  1. […] I made Grilled Portobellos, and while they were post-marinating I grilled some green beans, which I tossed with gomashio (I was winging it), marinated some zucchini in leftover Italian tofu marinade and grilled that, and tossed some collard greens on the grill as well.  I’ve been using the 2nd year collards, nipping off their flowers, and they haven’t gotten bitter yet.  I just yank the whole plant up and rip off what leaves I want, since I don’t want seeds everywhere (been there).  They were great grilled though hard to cut the stems – might pre-cut them into bite-size peices next time.  Who am I kidding, I won’t remember.  I got the idea from Totally Vegetarian. […]

Leave a Reply

 
