The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Hot Stew

Posted by tinako on July 7, 2010

I should have stuck to uncooked dishes tonight.  I don’t know what made me think stew would be welcome.  First it made the kitchen hot, and then made us hot.

I was seduced by the recipe’s liberal use of lentils and collard greens, both of which I had in ample supply.

Anyway, I made Lentil and Collard Green Stew over brown rice.  It wasn’t as flavorful as I had hoped, with just the vegetables and bay leaves to do the job, but we put Red Hot on it and that worked pretty well.

Zucchini Salad

With this we had another cold zucchini salad as yesterday, only with zucchini from my garden.  The first of many, many, many…

Tossed Salad

And of course a tossed salad, with lettuce, sweet mini peppers, raw shredded beet, cuke, and radish, topped with Tomato Basil Dressing which I made with Spicy V8.  Ha-cha-cha, it was good!

I’ve been hungry between meals a lot lately, very unusual for me, even though I feel like I’ve been eating the same as before.  It may be a combination of:

1. Being more active with my kids at home, swimming etc.

2. Doing a lot of reading, listening, and watching people talk about junk food for the Psych123 class.

3. I’m at my parents’ cottage and there’s a whole lot of snacking going on here.  When everybody’s here there is usually someone at all times heading into the kitchen for something crunchy or a sweetened beverage.  There are products here I do not keep in my own home because I would overeat them.  They’re not mine, so that’s holding me back so far, but I see them, and I want them.

4. I think I don’t have here the healthy, satisfying,  hold-you-over snacks I usually go for at home, like salty nuts, which disappear here before I can get to them.  Mmmm, tamari almonds – but they wouldn’t last a day.  I have been snacking on wasabi peas only because no one else wants them; I love them, so that worked out great, but I finished them yesterday.  Can you tell I’m hungry right now?

5. With all the wonderful fresh produce available, maybe I am filling up at meals on vegetables.

I really don’t want to start a constant tortilla chip, pretzel, and Mike’s Hard Lemonade habit here.  I’ve been there, done that.  I want to eat my meals and be done.  I’ll try eating larger portions, especially the carb and protein dishes, and see if that helps.

Leave a Reply

 
