The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Baked Tempeh Sandwiches

Posted by tinako on July 9, 2010

I made tempeh sandwiches tonight.

I had made some 100% Whole Wheat Bread in my machine.  I’m not including the recipe because it would be included with your machine.  I was afraid this would be very heavy, but it wasn’t.  I will do this again.  I like commercial 100% whole wheat bread, but after reading the section in Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food about commercial bread, I am having second thoughts.  I mean, I would still eat it sometimes, but I have a bread machine, so why not avoid that?

Pollan boldly asserts that the commercial product looks like bread but is not really bread at all.  It certainly does taste different from bread I make.  The recipe I made above has the following ingredients:

  • whole wheat flour
  • water
  • sugar
  • canola oil
  • yeast
  • salt

Now look at a comparable commercial loaf which I have bought dozens of times.  Freihofer’s 100% Whole Wheat has these ingredients:

  • Whole Wheat Flour
  • Water
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Wheat Gluten
  • Yeast
  • Soybean Oil
  • Salt
  • Wheat Bran
  • Calcium Propionate (Preservative)
  • Mono-Glycerides
  • Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate
  • Calcium Sulfate
  • Ferrous Sulfate
  • Niacin
  • Thiamin Mononitrate
  • Riboflavin
  • Folic Acid
  • Soy Lecithin

I will take their word for it that all of those items are edible at least in the short term, but is sodium stearoyl lactylate food?

Anyway, getting back to the sandwich, on my delicious bread people could put Masterpiece BBQ Sauce.  Uh, oh, another diversion.  I used to buy this because Consumer Reports said it was good.  I no longer buy it because the second and third ingredients are sugar.  But it was what we had here at my parents’ place, and I was grateful we had it.  I’m pretty sure my Dad is getting annoyed at my further journeying down a path that snubs more and more foods.  But I try not to let it affect him, and I certainly don’t point out the failure of his purchases to measure up to my standards.  I just buy or make my own version; he notices, but I can’t really help that.  Am I going around the bend?

I’m going to get the rest of this sandwich out if it kills me: next on it came Baked Tempeh, vidalia onion, lettuce, and mini sweet peppers my brother sauted in olive oil with fresh parsley, cilantro, chives, and purple basil.

We also had steamed collard greens with balsamic vinegar.

Leave a Reply

 
