The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Pizza

Posted by tinako on July 16, 2010

100% Whole Wheat Bread

I made 100% Whole Wheat Bread this afternoon.  It came out really well.

For lunch I had the Sandwich Of Death.  I was a bit at a loss, so I put two of those Hungarian Wax Peppers I had grilled on a sandwich.  I tasted one and it didn’t seem so hot, so I didn’t bother seeding the second one.  OMG.  Tomato juice helped, water no, almond milk yes, tapioca pudding yes, finally I just sucked on an ice cube for a few minutes.

Pizza

Dinner was Pizza with Tomato Coulis, broccoli, zucchini, grilled Hungarian Wax pepper, sweet peppers, and olives.

My kids are going to stay-camp next week.  I called and spoke to the very supportive head chef, and they really seem to be on the ball.  They have cereal, oatmeal, and fruit salad at breakfast every day, a salad bar at every lunch and dinner with vegan rolls and vegan margarine (he knew what was in the food he was serving!).  Entrees were a little trickier – no problem for my vegetarian son, since the two camp directors are both vegetarian, but for my vegan daughter not so much.  He said there would be tacos with vegan refried beans one night, and he could make pasta.  I asked about the pasta sauce, and he said they make their own (!!).   But desserts are mostly right out for her.

Colossal Chocolate Chippers

So, we agreed on some things I would send that would fill out her week.  I started tonight by making a double batch of Colossal Chocolate Chippers, putting a container of them in the freezer for my daughter to take and have for desserts.  I also bought some granola bars to take the place of camp store treats, which I was happy to see they do not sell candy or pop, but the chef said they are probably not vegan.

Leave a Reply

 
