The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Saturday

Posted by tinako on July 31, 2010

I have been putting out raw veggies for myself and the crowd here to nibble on before dinner in lieu of the bags and bags of chips crowding the refrigerator top.  They are kept up there because the mice have never gotten up there, but it’s a terrible spot for them, right at the eye level of my tall family, and in a location we all pass every time we walk into the house.  I suggested putting them in a container or paper bag, but they aren’t my chips and this isn’t my house, so there’s not much I can do besides put out veggies.

Well, I also buy a lot of peaches at the farm stand and leave them lying around.

I try to mix up the veggies, so one day it was carrots, kohlrabi, radishes, and Peanut Dressing and the next it was cucumber, carrots, and red peppers with salsa.  Today it was raw green beans, green peppers, and carrots with Green Goddess Dressing.

We got takeout pizza, and mine was very good, though it took my Dad three explanations for the guy to understand that we wanted half Veggie without cheese and the other half Cheese without veggies.  They got it right, though.

For dessert we had leftover Cinnamon Pudding and I also made Brownies of My Dreams.  I made it with Ener-G Egg Replacer instead of flax seed and it was fine.  I even undercooked it and it was still fine.

Leave a Reply

 
