The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Birthday!

Posted by tinako on September 19, 2010

Birthday Lunch Buffet

My daughter had a few friends over for her birthday.  We made Berry Ink and wrote with bamboo pens, which was a tremendous hit among 8-year-old girls.  (I noticed the ink didn’t hold its color well as it dried, though.  Raspberry red ended up purple-black.)

Lunch was a salad bar with lettuce, cucumber, tomatoes, portobello mushrooms, olives, sunflower seeds, Orange Balsamic Dressing, Italian Dressing, and canned peaches.

French Rolls

There were also French Rolls and whole wheat farfalle with tomato sauce.

It was all very popular – I would definitely do this again for a birthday party.  This is what my plate looked like –>

Golden Vanilla Cupcakes with Vanilla Frosting

Dessert was Golden Vanilla Confetti Cupcakes with Vanilla Frosting.

For dinner we took takeout pizza to my parents house.  For myself I brought a Helen’s Kitchen frozen entree.  It was some pasta meal that I can’t find anywhere on the internet.  It was so-so.  I wouldn’t buy it again.  For my daughter I brought a Lasagna Rollup, whole wheat farfalle and frozen peas.

Dessert for the family birthday party was a two-layer Vanilla Cake with more of the same frosting.  Also my dad had So Delicious ice cream, mint chocolate swirl I think.

Leave a Reply

 
