The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Bat Cookies

Posted by tinako on October 9, 2010

Sugar Cookies

Dinner was Chinese takeout and afterward we had Sugar Cookies with Vanilla Frosting.

Yes, I have black food coloring.  I bought it for a Batman cake and it comes in a paste.  To get really black frosting instead of blue-gray, I have to add cocoa as well.  I added so much cocoa it made the frosting too stiff for kids to squeeze out, so I’d keep that in mind next time, add in some more soy milk.

It occurred to me as I was cursing out McCormick’s food coloring bottle design, which seems intended to dribble, that I pay extra for natural food like pickles and jam that don’t have food coloring, and here I was adding the exact same stuff to my cookies.  Go figure.

Leave a Reply

 
