The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Posted by tinako on October 20, 2010

Peanutty Noodles and Miso Soup

My parents came for dinner and we had Peanutty Noodles and Miso Soup.  The Peanutty Noodles were udon noodles, microwaved tofu, and rehydrated shiitake mushrooms tossed in Spicy Peanut Sauce.  I loved the flavor the mushrooms added, but my Dad disliked the rubbery texture.

The Miso Soup was water, a few slices of ginger, veggie bouillon paste, soy sauce, and dried black fungus brought to a boil.  When we were almost ready to eat I dropped in a sliced bok choy (the last of it!) and some miso paste that had been dissolved in a little of the broth.  I think I had the heat off at this point.  I had to add more dissolved miso paste three times until I got it to the flavor I wanted.  I had a ginger hunt before serving – you don’t want to eat that.

I thought both dishes were really good, and we also had Wuyi Oolong tea and beer.

Dessert was Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream with Ah-laska chocolate sauce and sprinkles.  I used up some soy creamer in place of soymilk in the ice cream, and I don’t know if it was that or the strong mint flavoring but I thought the ice cream tasted better than usual.  FYI soy creamer keeps a very long time, I’m talking months, even opened.

Leave a Reply

 
