The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Ravioli!

Posted by tinako on October 24, 2010

Raviloi Maker

My Atlas Pasta Maker

I got a ravioli maker for my birthday!  I have been wanting one since I saw (a different) one over the summer.

This attachment looks great, but... I didn't get this one.

The one I saw would have been more automatic and attached onto my Atlas pasta maker, but my dear husband checked reviews and found that almost everyone said the only thing it could make was a mess.  Knowing my temperament, he went for one that people seemed to find less frustrating.  It was nice that he also got me a little tiny ice-cream-type scoop, the kind where you squeeze the handle and it pushes the stuff out.  That was great for the filling.

Uncooked Ravioli

So today I made ravioli.  First I made the filling, Cashew Ricotta, then the dough, and I went with Tomato Basil Pasta with tomato juice and basil.  Then I followed the directions with the ravioli maker, and it was 100% tears-free.

Tomato Basil Ravioli

Salad, Zucchini, Rolls

So dinner was Ravioli with Tomato Sauce.  It was great!  Everybody liked it, which is much more than can be said for the commercial vegan raviolis we have tried (Soy Boy and Rising Moon), which have a weird tofu-tasting filling.   We also had Nut Brown Ale Rolls, microwaved zucchini, and salad with Green Goddess Dressing.

Pumpkin Seeds

We also carved pumpkins today, so I made Pumpkin Seeds.

And dessert was leftover Chocolate Birthday Cake.

One Response to “Ravioli!”

  1. Delicious! I gotta get me one of those ravioli makers!

Leave a Reply

 
