The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Christmas Eve

Posted by tinako on December 24, 2010

I made lunch and dinner for eight today.  Lunch was Lentil Soup and defrosted Apple Wheat Rolls.  I also put out the Sushi.

Focaccia

Dinner was two loaves of Focaccia, Lasagna Rollups made with one bunch of steamed Swiss chard and stretched to 12 rolls, whole wheat penne with tomato sauce made from garlic, olive oil, crushed tomatoes, red wine, and herbs, and butternut squash.

Raw Fava Beans

I had brought along two lovely bunches of spinach to steam, but they were just so nice I decided a salad would be better.  My brother’s girlfriend is very good at salads, so she added chopped apples, pears, oranges, red peppers, and walnuts, and made a dressing like she did when I visited them last summer: Orange Balsamic.  Because the balsamic here was not as sweet, she added a little sugar.

Over the course of the last two days I made a Fava Bean Appetizer to serve with dinner, but it didn’t come out so well.  The beans didn’t cook evenly but I didn’t notice that until it was too late – so the couple I sampled were pretty mushy, but many were very hard.  I just bought the beans, but maybe they had sat on the shelf a while.  Even so, the end result wasn’t a pretty dish, and didn’t have a strong enough flavor to make you eat them anyway.  They were OK, but I wouldn’t do that again.

Dessert was Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Leave a Reply

 
