The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

New Year’s Eve

Posted by tinako on December 31, 2010

We had a lovely lunch at Zest.  We ordered a nice pot of their Blackberry infusion.  It came with all kinds of lovely leaves and buds floating in the pot, and a strainer to use when pouring.  They have a half sandwich & soup or salad option, so I went with that.  I had their soup of the day: Squash, Turnip, and something else.  That was very good.    And then came a Hummus Du Jour sandwich, which was plenty of tangy orange hummus on nice toasted bread with some peppers and spinach.  It came with a cold rice salad which had a very light dressing and cranberries in it.  Also a cute little pickle, very fresh and mild.  Very good.

There were plenty of vegan options, but no vegan desserts.  My mother-in-law ordered an Almond Joy Pie.  It seemed to be toasted coconut and maybe corn syrup baked into a “pie shell,” then filled with coconut pie filling (thick pudding) and topped with a chocolate glaze and coconut and sliced almonds, and served with a dollop of whipped cream.  It looked good and I could do that.  My daughter and I came back and had leftover brownies to console ourselves.  Yum!

For dinner I made Whole Wheat Rolls and Refrigerator Soup.  The soup was just stuff my hostess and I had on hand, garlic, celery, carrots, potato, kale, turnip, and a veggie bouillon cube.  Then I snuck upstairs to my sister-in-laws and “borrowed” a couple sundried tomatoes, rosemary powder, dill, Italian spices, and a bay leaf.  My grandmother-in-law made my spinach, still terrific after a week, into a nice salad.  We put in sweet pepper, clementine, red onion, and walnuts.  It was all delicious.  For dressing we used some Balsamic Fig Dressing I got at Stonewall Kitchens.   I had been concerned that the second ingredient was sugar, and ideed it was too syrupy, but not bad.

We’ll be polishing off the Brownies soon.

Leave a Reply

 
