The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Salad Bar

Posted by tinako on February 28, 2011

Squash Soup, Salad, and Beer Brat

Tonight’s dinner was Tofurkey Beer Brats on Ezekiah wheat rolls, Imagine Creamy Butternut Squash Soup, and a reprise of last night’s salad bar.

My husband is watching his sodium, and when I looked on the beer brats package I got an eyeful.  For some reason four hot dogs is 3.5 servings, so I need a calculator to tell you how much sodium is in one dog: 620 mg/serving x 3.5 servings / 4 dogs = 542 mg for 260 calories, so over twice as much sodium as it should have.  Ouch.  Well, we only have them a couple times a year since I avoid processed food anyway, basically because this type of thing happens.  When I make something from scratch, I am aware of each item that goes in and can make decisions about it.  When I buy something in a package, I may not notice it, and if I do it’s take it or leave it.

The soup was high, too, 460 mg/90-calorie cup.  It’s definitely saltier than I would make it myself.  Again, we don’t have this too often since soup is so easy to make.

I just returned from looking for where I told about how I weaned myself off of high-salt vegetable juice and can’t find it, so maybe I never said.  I tried no-salt veggie juice and it didn’t taste good.  So I added 1 tsp salt to the whole bottle and shook it up.  That made it as salty as usual, so the next bottle I added 1/2 tsp.  That was OK, and I did that for maybe half a dozen bottles, getting more and more used to it until one time I was in a hurry and just poured myself a cup out of a new bottle and yes, it was less salty, but didn’t taste horrible any more.  By the time I got to the next bottle, I was used to it.  Now full-salt veggie juice tastes terrible to me.  Voila.

Another thing I don’t seem to have discussed at that linked blog post is the rule of thumb that we need about the same number of calories  in kcal as our maximum sodium in milligrams, 2,000.  So if a food has more sodium than calories, you are going to have to make that up somewhere else with food that has more calories than sodium so that they come out equal at the end of the day.  I don’t fuss about foods that have, say, 300 calories and 400 mg sodium, but many processed foods will have double or more of sodium than they should.

One Response to “Salad Bar”

  1. Rob said

    Your trick with the no-salt veggie juice is a good one. I wish the same were possible with high fructose corn syrup and other sweeteners, but unsweetened versions of processed foods aren’t generally available. Having such things would help our sweetener, processed food, corn, and GMO addicted society. The real answer is simply to avoid processed foods in the first place and ideally to grow your own organics, but this can be as difficult a step for many people as avoiding meat, dairy, gluten, etc.

Leave a Reply

»
 
