The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Posted by tinako on March 5, 2011

We had Indian takeout tonight from Thali of India.  I love how after I ask for the first item I order to be vegan, he volunteers info about all the subsequent items.  “Would you like that one vegan too?”  Thank you for making me feel like a valued customer instead of an afterthought or an imposition.  I had Aloo Gobi, my daughter Mushroom Mattar, we shared the veggie appetizers and roti.  Everything was delicious.

Whole Wheat Cocolate Chip Cookies

For dessert we had Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar by Moskowitz and Romero.  They were made with 100% King Arthur’s White Whole Wheat flour and a bit of tapioca flour.  I’m not going to tell you how I made it because I don’t think I’d make it again.  They were OK, the kids really liked them, but they weren’t as healthy or as good as my Colossal Chocolate Chippers, IMHO.  If I am going to have chocolate chip cookies with oil in them, they had better be awesome.  To be fair, I did sub 2 T Prune Puree for 2 T oil (still leaving 6 T oil), but I don’t think that was the issue.  Maybe if I squashed them down more and cooked them longer to be crispier.

My friend is using this cookbook but subbing whole wheat pastry flour.  I will have to find out how that is going.

Leave a Reply

 
