The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Kashi Black Bean Mango

Posted by tinako on March 13, 2011

It occurred to me after I purchased this that there is no real subject in the name of this food.  What is it?  It’s a mango?  A black bean one?

I bought this because it was A. on sale, and B. met all my nutrition facts requirements.  Of course it is vegan, and thank you Kashi for putting that on the front of the (recycled paper, 11% smaller) box to save me time.  It has 340 calories with 70 from fat, so that’s 20%, good.  It has 380 mg of sodium, as close as can be expected to the calorie-sodium rule-of-thumb.  It has 11 g of sugar, some from fruit and fruit juice, and 7 g of fiber.  The ingredients list looks like a farm stand.  I’m not a big processed food fan, buying these frozen meals only to alleviate a non-vegan situation, but this is about as good as it gets nutritionally.  Right on, Kashi!

I thought it was good.  The pilaf was very toothsome, chewy and rounded, which I like.  I did a double-take when I took it out of the microwave because it appeared to be covered in cheese, but that was the “Zesty Mango Sauce.”  Zesty means sweet in this case; I was a little disappointed because usually black beans = spicy and this was not, but it’s good to accidentally try new flavors.

Here is a review that will describe it better than I did.

Leave a Reply

 
