The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Spaghetti with Garden Greens

Posted by tinako on March 16, 2011

Ingredients for Spaghetti and Garden Greens

Spaghetti with Garden Greens

My parents came for dinner and I made “Spaghetti with Garden Greens” from 150 Vegan Favorites by Jay Solomon.  Instead of posting it, I’ll direct you to my Pasta Verdura page, because that’s basically what it was, made with olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper,  and one pound mix of Swiss chard and spinach (I pre-miked the sliced chard stems).  I bet red pepper flakes would be a nice addition.  This was tossed with 8 oz. whole wheat spaghetti for 4 servings.

Salad

Cow Peas and Collard Greens

We also had leftover Cow Peas and Collard Greens and lettuce and spinach salad with Faux Feta and Portobello Steaks.  I marinated the one enormous mushroom in a separate container this time and it was much better.  The photo does not show the shrooms or feta.

2 Responses to “Spaghetti with Garden Greens”

  1. What are cow peas? I’ve never heard of this.

    • tinako said

      I believe cow peas is technically a generic term which includes many varieties including black-eyed-peas, so I have started using them interchangeably. This bag was just labeled cow peas and I don’t know if it is really has a more specific name. I bought these in the Goya dry bean section and they’re like little brown black-eyed peas. I think they might have an earthier flavor than B-E-Ps do. They also sold pigeon peas there and they are similar only spherical. They are all related, and I think they really are peas, not “beans.” I know I grew B-E-Ps and black beans one year – the black beans were just like green beans, bushes with broad heart-shaped leaves, but the BEPs were like clover or vetch, viney with little composite leaflets and the flowers were clovery. They cook much quicker than beans, no soaking, and they’re native to Africa I think, doing well in poor soil. How’s that? Pretty good if it turns out I know what I’m talking about: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cowpea.

Leave a Reply

 
