The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Sesame Edamame with Whole Wheat Pasta

Posted by tinako on April 13, 2011

Roasted Green Beans & Sesame Edamame with Soba

It was our monthly Tasty Tuesday yesterday at my daughter’s school, and two other moms and I handed out dixie cups with healthy food samples as the kids passed into the cafeteria.  Yesterday it was raw green beans, which seemed to go over well.

The info sheet the lead mom made up to go home with all the kids had a recipe for Oven Roasted Green Beans, so I made that tonight.  It’s so simple, I’m just going to put it here.

  • 1 lb. fresh green beans, washed and trimmed
  • 1-2 T olive oil
  • 1/2 t kosher salt
  • freshly ground pepper

Just spread the beans on a baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil (I tossed them a bit with my hands), sprinkle on the salt and pepper, and bake at 400 for 15-20 min.  My kids loved it!

With this we had Sesame Edamame with Soba Noodles.  They look purple in the picture but really they are brown.  It was good.  My daughter’s friends were over and they liked nibbling as I was cooking, the microwaved edamame, the sliced peppers, the half-cooked green beans.

My son made Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies from How it all Vegan by Barnard and Kramer.  As with another cookie he made, we weren’t crazy about it as it tasted kind of like frosting.  Maybe he is not cooking them enough.  Everyone said they prefer my Colossal Chocolate Chippers, which are also much healthier.

 

Leave a Reply

 
