The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

The Power of One

Posted by tinako on April 21, 2011

A fellow vegan recently was telling me how she made that choice.  Her daughter went to camp and a fellow camper politely refused a meat dish, saying  simply, “I don’t eat meat.”  Her daughter thought to herself, “Someday that’s going to be me.  Someday I’m going to say that.”

The daughter followed through and her mother eventually decided it was easier to just cook vegetarian.  The son liked it, too, and soon the daughter decided to give up dairy and eggs as well.  Again, the rest of her family followed along, and now the three of them are vegan.

The power of one may not do much in math, but look what it does in a dining hall.  We think our choices save just the few animals we don’t eat.  We can have no idea of the reach our personal actions have.

4 Responses to “The Power of One”

  1. theduffboy said

    That is a great story. I have seen firsthand the power of one. Reblogging comencing in 5, 4, 3, 2…

  2. […] A fellow vegan recently was telling me how she made that choice.  Her daughter went to camp and a fellow camper politely refused a meat dish, saying  simply, "I don't eat meat."  Her daughter thought to herself, "Someday that's going to be me.  Someday I'm going to say that." The daughter followed through and her mother eventually decided it was easier to just cook vegetarian.  The son liked it, too, and soon the daughter decided to give up dairy … Read More […]

  3. How nice! I always say that I hope my journey as a vegan will help to inspire at least one more person to go vegan as well.

  4. […] vegan position in conversations with friends and family.   (Here’s another great example: The Power of One).  I can think of several friends who have cut back on meat or dairy since knowing me.  A lot of […]

Leave a Reply

 
